Letters I Never Posted….

Dear Expectations,

I fail to apprehend why you always pitch yourself so high. The commitments you quote are difficult to negotiate, especially when it comes to close ones. There’s something fishy about you and your ways.

My relatives are staunch supporters of you. According to them, life sustains on basic necessities but is incomplete without you. But believe me, your presence is treacherous. 

Since childhood I have been managing to live upto you. To my fancy, the moment I reach the zenith of you, the zenith itself grows in height. Amusingly, your growth is much more fast paced than I can barely handle.

You make people grow fond of things and then land them into utter dissapointment as if a plane crashed, creating a havoc. Kindly maintain a safe distance between you and me. 

Also, your unpredictability is too uncertain to be justified. The moment you die in me, you look for another incarnation and are reborn in another form. I have realised,that you have held captive, the poor four chambered organ. 

I beg you, stop treating me as a stuffed toy. Your arrival and departure, with or without a frame of reference, leaves me puzzled. When I want to cry, you make me smile and when I want to smile, you make me cry. You have an expertise in befooling me.

I know, old habits die hard but still, I hope you will work on improving yourself. After all, there must be sufficient allowance for a sound sleep.

From, a pestered child.

Picture credit: Akash Singh

10 thoughts on “Letters I Never Posted….

Leave a Reply

